OMG Bags

My “holy grail” is the perfect bag. Nix that, my holy grail is a dozen perfect bags, because I no longer feel that there is one perfect purse that fulfills my every need. And in case you were wondering, here are my needs for a bag:

1. Look good but doesn’t have to try too hard to do so. (So, no rhinestones or superfluous ruffle-y shit or flashy stuff.)

2. Carry a lot. I’m a new mom and a pack rat. I need something that can carry at LEAST a few items of makeup, my phone, my keys, my book, my journal/to-do list book, my wallet, my sunglasses, my eyedrops, and that thirteen cents swimming around the bottom of every purse I own.

3. Be easy to carry. Sorry, clutches. But I need to have one (if not both) hand and arm totally free.

4. Not break the bank. Only once have I spent more than $100 on a purse. It was totally worth it, though.

Here are some purses I have been giving sex-eyes to lately. Dear husband: Any (all) of these would be excellent Christmas gifts, HINT HINT SLEDGEHAMMER.

ASOS Suede Studded Punchout Pocket Satchel, $112.06

This bag makes me think of fall. Specifically, a college campus in autumn, spreading out a Pendleton blanket over the leaf-covered quad lawn and pulling out my journal to notate my deep thoughts from my latest Philosophy class. Then writing a reminder to add leather elbow patches to all of my tweed blazers.

Kinies QT Canvas Tote, $42

Usually, I hate bows. but the way the designer has incorporated them into the bag’s seams makes it downright charming. LOVE this bag. It’s available in a variety of colors, but this goldenrod color makes me smile.

Pansy Maiden Large Organic Weekender, $128

LOVELY is the first word that comes to mind for this bag. I’m really loving navy lately, especially in the form of crisp, new denim. The soft yellow straps are a gorgeous touch.

American Apparel Quilted Nylon Laptop Bag, $38

This is one of those things where I am not entirely sure WHY I like this, but I do.  There’s something very nostalgic about it. And I suspect that baby barf would be easy to wipe off the surface.

Rib and Hull Lambskin Slouch Handbag, $196

This is an example of good construction + good material = great design. Plus, the leather looks so soft, I just want to cuddle the bag.

Moop – The Letter Bag – $118

The red color of this bag looks like it’s enough to get attention without having to scream for it. Plus, I’m all about pretty bags that are not made of leather or faux-leather. Canvas can be really pretty!

Pink Studio Unity Tote, $78

Very simple construction, no bells or whistles, but the fabric makes it look so interesting. Plus it has a zippered opening so everything doesn’t fall out when your purse falls off the car seat AGAIN and now your lip balm has rolled under the passenger seat.

Leave a Reply

